Parkinson’s Disease: A Journey Through the Stages of Loss


Parkinson’s disease is a progressive neurological disorder that affects millions of people worldwide. It is a chronic and degenerative condition that primarily affects the movement and coordination of the body. Parkinson’s disease can be devastating, both for the person diagnosed and their loved ones. As the disease progresses, it can cause significant changes to a person’s physical, mental, and emotional health.

Understanding the Stages of Parkinson’s Disease:

There are typically five recognized stages of Parkinson’s disease, known as the Hoehn and Yahr stages, which are based on the severity and progression of symptoms.

Stage One: The Beginning of the Journey

Stage one is the mildest stage of Parkinson’s disease. At this stage, symptoms typically affect only one side of the body. Tremors or shaking may be present in one limb, along with slight changes in posture, walking, or facial expressions. The person may also experience a reduced sense of smell.

At this stage, it’s common for a person to ignore the symptoms or brush them off as a normal part of aging. But, it’s important to take these symptoms seriously and seek medical attention. Early diagnosis and treatment can significantly improve a person’s quality of life and slow the progression of the disease.

Stage Two: The Slow Progression

Stage two is characterized by an increase in symptoms. Symptoms begin to affect both sides of the body, and tremors or shaking may become more pronounced. Walking may become more difficult or slower, and the person may experience stiffness or rigidity in their limbs or trunk.

At this stage, it’s essential to work with healthcare providers to develop a treatment plan that addresses the progression of the disease. Physical therapy, medication, and lifestyle modifications can help to manage symptoms and slow the disease’s progression.

Stage Three: A Significant Progression in Symptoms

Stage three marks a significant progression in symptoms. Walking becomes markedly slower and more difficult, and the person may begin to experience balance problems. Falls become more common, and daily activities may become more challenging.

At this stage, a person may require assistance with activities of daily living and may benefit from occupational therapy. Mobility aids, such as canes or walkers, may be needed to help the person maintain their independence.

Stage Four: The Most Disabling Stage

In stage four, the person’s symptoms are severe and disabling. They may be unable to walk without assistance and may require a wheelchair or other mobility aid. The person may also experience significant rigidity and stiffness and may have difficulty with speech or other fine motor tasks.

At this stage, it’s crucial to work with healthcare providers to ensure that the person receives the appropriate care and support. Palliative care and hospice care may be necessary to manage symptoms and provide comfort.

Stage Five: The End of the Journey

Stage five is the most advanced stage of Parkinson’s disease, with symptoms so severe that the person may be unable to stand or walk at all. They may also experience severe stiffness and may be unable to care for themselves without assistance. Communication may be severely limited, and the person may require around-the-clock care.

At this stage, the focus is on providing comfort and support to the person and their loved ones. End-of-life care may be necessary to ensure a peaceful and dignified transition.

Frequently Asked Questions:

  1. What causes Parkinson’s disease?

Parkinson’s disease is caused by a loss of dopamine-producing cells in the brain. The exact cause of this cell loss is unknown, but it is believed to be a combination of genetic and environmental factors.

  1. Is Parkinson’s disease hereditary?

While genetics can play a role in the development of Parkinson’s disease, it is not typically an inherited condition. Most

Seek out Services from Life Skills Village

To learn more give us a call at 248-788-4300

Please see sources below: 

  1. Parkinson’s Foundation: Parkinson’s Stages –
  2. Healthline: The 5 Stages of Parkinson’s Disease –
  3. WebMD: Understanding the Progression of Parkinson’s Disease –
  4. Mayo Clinic: Parkinson’s Disease – Symptoms and Causes –